Dr. Veena Jawali

Professor and Head - Department of Mathematics

About Department

The Department of Mathematics was established in the year 1946. The Department has faculty strength of 24 members (3 Professors, 1 Associate Professor and 20 Assistant Professors). Twenty Two of them have doctoral degree and Two are pursuing their Ph.D. program. The department offers courses for both UG and PG Programs. The department is recognized as one of its research centres by the VTU during 2004. Apart from regular teaching, the faculties are involved in research and many faculties are recognized as research supervisors at VTU. The department is running externally funded projects from STARS/IISc, Ministry of Education, Bangalore and VGST.

Eight research scholars are awarded Ph.D. degree and currently Fifteen persons are perusing part time Ph.D. program. The thrust areas of research of the department include Fluid Mechanics, Mathematical modelling, Integral transforms, Number theory, Graph theory, Functional Analysis and Differential Geometry . Faculties have published many research papers in reputed peer-reviewed journals as well as presented their work in several national and international conferences.

Based on the needs of various disciplines, the department is imparting the updated curriculum from time to time. With the available expertise, in addition to offering the core courses during the first four semesters of BE programs, is offering 4 electives at the Institutional level during the third and fourth year of BE program.


Be one of the leading centers for teaching & research in Mathematics


Encourage analytical, independent, rational thinking and enhance problem solving skills of the students